Knowledgebase: General Concepts
Groups
Posted by Judy King on 07 February 2013 02:14 PM

What is a Group?

A Group is a collection of Contacts that can be called at once.  Groups can be Ad hoc (created on the fly), or predefined.  Predefined Groups are listed in the Group tab.  Each Group is listed with a name and an associated group presence.  The two possible group presence definitions are:

Group Presence

Group Types

ESChat currently supports eight group types, providing a diverse set of options for managing users. The available group types are:

  • Personal

    A Personal Group is the simplest and most common choice for contacting a Group of Friends. Only the Group Owner can edit the members of a Personal Group. Personal Groups are created by a User for their personal use. Similar to an entry in a private phone book, a Personal Group only appears in the Owner's Group List and only the Owner can call the Group. Therefore with a Personal Group, Users may not remove themselves from someone else's Personal Group.

    A Personal Group cannot be joined once a call is in progress (i.e., late join).

    Personal Groups are one of the two types of Groups that can be created from the phone/device.

  • Member Groups

    Member Groups are similar to Personal Groups, with the exception that all Members of the Group have the ability to call the Group. When created, a Member Group will appear on all members phones/devices. The Group Owner of a Member Group can assign Edit Privileges to other Users who may then add and remove Group Members. Additionally, Members of a Member Group, who have the appropriate Priority level, may remove themselves from a Member Group.

    Members of a Member Group that did not join the call when initiated may join once the call is in progress (i.e., late join).

    Member Groups are the second type of Groups that can be created on the phone/device.

  • Enterprise Closed

    Enterprise Closed Groups are similar to Member Groups, with the exception that the Call Visibility Selectable and Join Call in Progress functions are selectable on a Group by Group Basis. Enterprise Closed Groups must be created on the web portal.

  • Enterprise Open

    Enterprise Open Groups are publically visible for Users that have the appropriate Priority within the Enterprise. Users with appropriate Priority access may join an Enterprise Open Group. Enterprise Open Groups are ideal for common interests like "¬ĚRunning"¬Ě or "Commuters".

    As with Enterprise Closed groups, the Call Visibility Selectable and Join Call in Progress functions are selectable on a Group by Group basis.

  • Enterprise Dispatch

    Enterprise Dispatch Groups feature definable work shifts, and the Members of the Group may change from Shift to Shift. Calls to the Group will be routed to the On-Duty Shift, therefore the Caller need not know which Group Members are On-Duty at any given time. In the following diagram, there are three Shifts associated with the Group. When a PTT call is initiated to the Group, the call will route only to the On-Duty Group Members. Enterprise Dispatch Groups are ideal for Maintenance and Security departments.

    The Call Visibility Selectable function can be selectable per Group.

  • Broadcast

    Broadcast Groups may only be created by the Administrator, who is the Group Owner. Users may be placed into a Broadcast Group as Call-Only privilege or Member privilege. A User with Call Only privilege may initiate a call to the Broadcast Group. A User with Member privilege will receive a Broadcast Group call.

    A Broadcast Call will interrupt an active non-Broadcast PTT call. A Broadcast Call is sent to all User Handset Devices that are registered with the system at the time that the call is started. During the time that a Broadcast Call is active, the Server will attempt to contact each registered User Handset Device from the Broadcast Group for a specific duration of time in order to deliver the Broadcast Call.

  • Surveillance Channel

    The Surveillance Channel Group type mimics an LMR Radio, with a dedicated channel that users can join and leave over time. Once started, the call will stay open until a configurable time period or until last the user has left the call. Based on configuration, the call can be idle for up to 20 minutes before the call will be dropped. Configuration parameters may be changed on web portal.

  • Unicast Channel

    The Unicast Channel Group type is similar to the Surveillance group. It is a dedicated channel that users can join and leave over time. The difference is that the Unicast Channel supports one way communication. In a Unicast Group, one user is allowed to hold the floor indefinitely, preventing others from taking the floor.

(2 vote(s))
Helpful
Not helpful